Taupo Volcanic Zone


The Taupo Volcanic zone is a located in the North Island of New Zealand. The zone extends offshore of the Bay of Plenty and includes Rotorua, Taupo and the Tongariro National Park. It is home to many geological wonders including White Island, Rotorua Geothermal Area, Lake Taupo Caldera, Mount Ruapehu and Mount Ngauruhoe. It is named after Lake Taupo – a dormant super volcano.