Democratic Republic of the Congo Volcanoes

  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Global Volcanoes Database
  4. /
  5. Democratic Republic of the...


The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), situated within the geologically complex East African Rift System, is home to several active and potentially active volcanoes. This volcanic activity stems from the ongoing divergence of the African tectonic plate, leading to crustal thinning, zones of weakness, and the ascent of magma. The DRC’s volcanic landscape is concentrated in the Virunga Mountains, bordering Rwanda and Uganda, and features a mix of stratovolcanoes and smaller volcanic features.

Two of Africa’s most active volcanoes reside within the DRC. Mount Nyiragongo, known for its large, persistent lava lake, poses a substantial threat to the neighboring city of Goma. This volcano has a history of both flank and summit eruptions, producing destructive lava flows and occasional episodes of increased seismicity and gas release. Nyamuragira, another highly active volcano, is characterized by frequent eruptions and expansive lava flows, posing risks to nearby communities and ecosystems.